Is CBD halal?

is cbd halal

Is CBD halal?

  • “Halal” is an Arabic word used to describe foods or substances which are “permitted” or “lawful” for Muslims to consume.
  • Foods or substances which are not halal are known as “haram”.
  • CBD itself is halal, as it is non-intoxicating and derived from the hemp plant.
  • CBD products are halal provided they contain non-detectable THC levels, and no alcohol, nicotine, gelatine from haram animals, or haram flavourings or colourings.

Despite its widespread popularity, CBD is still a newcomer to the wellness industry, and many consumers are uncertain about its uses and safety, including Muslims who are unsure whether CBD is halal.

In Arabic, the word “halal” means “permitted” or “lawful”. It is used to describe foods which Muslims can eat in accordance with Islamic dietary law. By contrast, foods which are not permitted or lawful to consume are referred to as “haram”.

Haram foods include:

  • Pork and all its byproducts, including gelatine, lipase and pepsin
  • Meat from animals which have not been slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law (Zabiha)
  • Meat from dead animals (carrion)
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, reptiles and insects (excluding locusts)
  • Alcohol, foods prepared with alcohol, and all other intoxicating substances, including drugs and THC
  • Foods containing blood and blood by-products, such as blood pudding
  • Rennet, animal shortening or tallow

What is halal?

Halal foods do not contain haram ingredients and have been prepared according to the Islamic dietary law. For meat to be halal, the animal must be slaughtered by cutting the jugular vein, carotid artery and windpipe with a razor sharp knife. The animal must be alive and healthy when killed, and all blood must be drained from the carcass. This ensures that the animal is slaughtered in the most considerate way and the food is clean and healthy.

What is CBD?

Cannabidiol (CBD) is one of over 100 compounds known as cannabinoids that are found in the hemp plant. Since its discovery in 1940, CBD has been the subject of numerous preclinical studies, many of which suggest it may have a wide range of therapeutic properties – although more research is needed to confirm initial findings.

Unlike its cousin THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), CBD is a non-intoxicating compound, which means it does not cause a cerebral high or have abuse potential. CBD can be taken in many forms, including CBD oils, capsules, snacks, balms and e-liquids.

is cbd halal

Is CBD halal?

Hemp-derived CBD is halal, because it is non-intoxicating and extracted from a non-haram source.

However, it’s important to note that many CBD distillates and isolates, including those sold by Naturecan, use ethanol or another alcohol solvent in the extraction process, and therefore these products would not be considered halal.

Nevertheless, broad-spectrum CBD products, which contain CBD alongside other hemp compounds, can be halal provided that they do not contain haram ingredients and are not prepared with an alcohol solvent. A halal broad-spectrum CBD product should contain non-detectable THC, no gelatine, nicotine or alcohol, and no flavourings or colourings from haram sources.

While the majority of CBD products on the market do not have official halal certification, those which meet the requirements above are likely to be deemed halal by Islamic religious authorities. However, we recommend that Muslims who are looking to buy halal CBD speak to a religious leader before doing so.

What CBD products are halal?

The following CBD products may be considered halal, providing they contain no haram ingredients and are not extracted with an alcohol solvent:

  • Broad-spectrum CBD oil
  • CBD isolate oil
  • Vegan CBD capsules
  • Vegan CBD gummies
  • Nicotine-free CBD e-liquids
  • Alcohol-free CBD topicals
  • CBD peanut butter
is cbd halal

What CBD products are haram?

The following are examples of haram CBD products:

  • Full- and broad-spectrum CBD containing detectable amounts of THC
  • CBD gummies and capsules made with gelatine derived from pigs
  • CBD e-liquids which are alcohol-based or contain haram flavourings or ingredients, such as nicotine (propylene glycol and vegetable glycerin, also known as PG / VG, are common core ingredients in e-liquids; they are considered halal as they can be derived from vegetable sources)
  • CBD products prepared with alcohol solvents
  • CBD topicals which contain alcohol or other haram ingredients

How to find halal CBD

If you’re looking to buy halal CBD, here are some key things to look out for:

  • A trusted, reputable seller
  • Proof of third-party lab testing for each product (usually in the form of a Certificate of Analysis)
  • CBD sourced from organic hemp
  • Non-detectable THC levels (<0.01%)
  • Vegan and cruelty-free certifications
  • A full ingredient list (check for haram ingredients)
  • Broad-spectrum CBD or CBD isolate (avoid full-spectrum due to potentially higher THC levels)


To sum up, CBD alone is halal because it is a natural hemp extract and does not cause a high. CBD products are halal provided they contain non-detectable THC and no other haram substances, and are not extracted with alcohol solvents.

Given that most CBD products lack halal certification, it’s up to customers to check the ingredients list and certificate of analysis for themselves to ensure the product is halal. Some customers may also find it helpful to speak to a religious leader before purchasing.

Written by Alex Coughlan and reviewed by our compliance expert, Paul Holmes, Scientific & Regulatory Affairs Manager at Naturecan, BSc Medicinal and Biological Chemistry, Member of UKAS/FSA CBD Food Product Approval Expert Group

Discover our bestsellers

Alex Coughlan
Latest posts by Alex Coughlan (see all)

%d bloggers like this: